gallery Fruit Tart Blues 🎷

I moved to Connecticut this past October from Southern California and I have to say even though it feels great to be back home in the Northeast (born and raised PA) I miss the easy access to fresh, local fruit year-round. Especially the berries! So, even though it’s the end of fall and I’m making a “foodie faux pas” by buying out of season, I picked up some berries to make a tart.

In California, I got into a habit of baking desserts, and while I have a lot of work to do on pies (a flakey crust eludes me) I’m pretty solid on tarts and cookies. I have a pretty artistic eye so I love designing the layouts of the fruit just right to make my creation as beautiful as any store bought fruit tart.

My recipe is pretty simple, and I may make or ignore the pastry pudding depending on the mouthfeel I want. I will say that the pudding makes it loads easier to place fruit for a fancy design. Today, though, I decided to forgo the pudding. I didn’t have the liqueur at hand and I’ve been saving up for my family’s annual Cookie Day!

Shortbread Tart Crust

1c flour
1/3c powdered sugar
1/8tsp salt
1/2c(1 stick) cold butter

  1. Combine ingredients into food processor/blender
  2. Pulse until just starts to clump
  3. Press into tart pan
  4. Gently pierce bottom with fork
  5. Cover and chill in freezer for 15minutes
  6. Bake at 425 degrees F for 13-15minutes
  7. Cool completely before removing from pan and filling

Decorating Time!!

This time I used 2c blueberries, 2c raspberries, and 1c blackberries, but you can use any type or combination of fruit.

Keep in mind that layering is important so it is better to have too much fruit than too little. Over time you will be able to guage how much fruit to buy for one tart and how much buffer you need for ugly berries. I have made many tarts over the past year so I had little leftover fruit this time.

Also, beware!! Berries turn to mush a mere couple hours after washed! If you are making the tart for an event, washing berries or adding a topping too early can ruin your dessert!

Perfect!! Now some staging for a great picture. Enjoy!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

