🎶Tis’ the Season for DIY 🎶

The Christmas season is a perfect time to pick up a new hobby or brush up on your skills to make handmade gifts for family and friends. Between the cost of store-bought gifts and the worry of what to get it can be a challenge to find the “perfect” gift. A majority of people turn to the tried and true gift-card. However, I’m not a gift-card giver. I find the idea impersonal (although my husband and sister find these gifts to be lovely).

Personally, I like the challenge of picking a pattern/design and tweaking it. I’ve used a variety of mediums (sewing, crochet, baking,…). However, a newbie crafter may find it expensive to purchase tools like sewing machines or baking supplies and find them either challenging to use or store properly.

I recommend starting with crochet. It only required a crochet hook, scissors, and yarn for almost all projects and crochet patterns are everywhere these days! Crocheting can also be taken with you anywhere you go and is only limited by your imagination. Here’s a fun fashion belt I made for Christmas when I first picked up crochet.

Not my best photo, but it gets the job done.

I just picked one of these lovely garlands for the belt,…

Let me know if you want me to translate.

made this lovely flower,…

fastened the flower to the end of the garland,…

Almost done…

and used two buttons, one on the back of the flower to act as a belt fastener and one in the flower to dress it up a bit. The belt can be made with any color or a variety of colors and only requires a few hours to put together.

Merry Crafting and Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

