What am I getting myself into?

This past weekend while I embroidered my lovely cat, Misty, decided she must join me. Isn’t she adorable?

So like this, I finished Lust and almost finished Gluttony. I finished designing Greed, but haven’t transferred the image yet, and I still have to complete the drawings of Pride and Envy (although I have the ideas I don’t like how they are coming out when I draw them) so overall, I’m reaching the home stretch.

So, as I near the end of my lovely 7 Deadly Embroidery adventure, what do I do? I plan more projects! Well, this one is courtesy of my best friend, Marta, who sent me this pin on Pinterest as a suggestion for my two cats.

Then my imagination takes a hold and wings me forward into a planning frenzy, not for the initial pin. Oh no, that’d be too easy, too mainstream, too boring…so why not make a WHOLE CAT TREE! I mean, I’m not going to purchase those $200+ monstrosities of simple materials at pet stores, but…my cats, Misty and Tori, look like they need/want a new perch and scratching post, right?

 Right?!

Okay, so maybe I’m getting ahead of myself, but I got hooked on the idea and spent roughly four hours…

My grandfather and mother both taught me the basics of building with wood, and combined with 3 wood-shop classes in high school, Google, and basic common sense, I think it will turn out pretty awesome! For those people unfamiliar with the abbreviations I am using, an apostrophe after a number means “feet” and a quotation mark after a number means “inches.” This is the result of my toils:

2016-02-01 15.45.26
Quite a lovely design, if I do say so myself.

The tower of platforms will start with a 2’6″ platform with a large removable hammock underneath, another 2′ platform with a hammock stretching to a 3’6″ “scratch archway” covered in rope and a flat “scratch panel” underneath the archway. Another 1′ platform will finish off the remaining wood materials. The three platforms will be covered by carpet and all the posts will be wrapped in rope. The dimensions of the projects is 2 ft x 4 ft x 5 ft 6 in!!

Materials will be:
4 – 8 ft 2 x 4’s cut into varying lengths
2 – 2 ft x 4 ft ply wood sections (one cut into varying lengths)
Carpet (3 ft x 9 ft)
32 – 2 inch wood screws
16 – 3 inch wood screws
8 – eye screws
1 – staple gun with staples
1 – roll of double-sided tape
and rope…lots and lots of 1/4 inch sisal rope
I already own cloth for the hammock

After researching the price the materials should cost ~$66 without tax (*gasp*)

I already got permission to build it from my husband, but he did ask that I hold off on buying materials for a bit (he’s my brakes for crazy projects, ha ha ha), so its a project in the planning stages only. I’m super excited to get to work, so I wanted to share my plans with you all!

Also, here’s a picture my husband took of me working on the 7 Deadly Embroidery project in my craft nook/desk today.2016-02-01 20.21.54

What do you all think? Have you ever tried building anything before?

7 comments

  1. Your embroidery is becoming pretty cool. And the cathouse, just awesome. I made a huge birdcage / cupboard for my 6 cockatiels once. It’s fun to make something custom, which is exactly the way you want it..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

