A Whimsical Dinner

Yesterday was tomato sauce day to replenish my freezer stock! Which means roughly 9 hours of cooking sauce from scratch, friends over for dinner, and chores/crafts in between.


Normally I will make sauce with a pork chop base but my guests don’t eat pork so I used sausage so the pieces wouldn’t fall apart into the sauce. I also made my grandma’s homemade meatballs and an apple pie for dessert. P.S. My grandpa Charlie’s pie recipe comes out perfect every time! No matter what kinds of apple or even if you mix them!!😮😆

Grandpa Charlie’s Apple Pie

  • 6 medium apples, peeled, cores, and sliced
  • 1 tsp cinnamon 
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 Tbsp Corn Starch
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 2 pie crusts
  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit 
  2. Mix apples, sugar, cinnamon, and starch in a bowl.
  3. Line a pie dish with one crust, fill with the apple mixture, and put pieces of butter on top.Then layer on second crust. (Make sure there are holes for air to escape)
  4. Bake for 45 minutes or until golden brown.

My guests were very happy and it was so nice to relax and enjoy their company. I’m finally getting to a point where cooking a two-course meal (dinner and dessert) flows smoothly and I can enjoy company as well as serve homemade food. It’s taken a lot of practice for me and many “one sec, I need to grab that from the oven” moments with the guests already at the table. Ha ha ha.


On another note, since sauce needs about 8 hours on the stove to simmer practically untouched I got some more work done on my keychains. I finished the backs of the huskie and put in the eyes on the front half. I did run out of eyes though so I need to purchase more. And of course my Misty wanted attent–*ahem* to help.


Have you all ever cooked a 2+ course meal for guests? How long did it take to learn how to balance cooking and hosting?

Leave a Reply

